.

MacDaddy's Mac n Cheese bar Review

The long awaited opening of MacDaddy's in Fairfield CT happened over the weekend!

The long awaited opening of MacDaddy's in Fairfield CT happened over the weekend!

For several months now we have driven past its new location hoping it would be open. Over the weekend Jeff and I were talking about how we wondered when it was going to open and then on Sunday we drove past and low and behold it was open!


Much to our surprise it wasn't all that busy when we went! They had their soft opening on Saturday and one of the managers said they had been busy ever since.

Upon arrival the menu and meal sizes were explained to us. There are 25 different options to chose from, some of which included lobster mac n cheese, mac doggy, mac daddy which is said to taste just like a big mac.


You can get your meal in 3 different sizes Snack which is meant to feed 1, Mac which is for 1-2, and MacDaddywhich is for 3-4. If you eat in your food comes served in skillets.

You have the option of whole wheat or gluten free elbows as well!

For my meal I got the snack size of the Lobster mac n cheese. Which included fresh Maine lobster, asiago, lemon zest, garlic roasted bread crumbs, topped with mozzarella cheese.

This was so filling and I couldn't even finish the snack size.

I was surprised to see some of the prices on the menu and found it to be a tad on the pricey side.

I tend to like my mac n cheese on the over baked side, were you get the crispy cheese taste and the mac and cheese sticks together. For lack of a better way to describe it this mac and cheese was on the watery side, it wasn't watery tasting it just wasn't as dry as I like it.

The staff at MacDaddy's were super friendly and helpful. They aren't strict on a set menu, if you want to change the cheese offered in your mac and cheese of choice you are more then welcome to.

I can only imagine this business is going to do very well in it's new location.

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Fairfield Resident September 05, 2012 at 12:21 PM
It would help if you put the addressesf the establishments you are reviewing in the body of the article. Just Sayin'...........
Fairfield Resident September 05, 2012 at 12:21 PM
"of"
FFLDRESIDENT September 05, 2012 at 12:34 PM
2449 Black Rock Turnpike By Swanson's Fish Market
Cynthia Dartley September 05, 2012 at 02:29 PM
Thanks Kaitlin for your review. As the Publisher/Editor of Macaroni Kid, I take my Macaroni very seriously : ) I too love the crusty parts so I'm thinking of making a Macaroni Kid version of Mac & Cheese with my daughter at home and will post how it turns out on my site http://fairfieldbport.macaronikid.com/. Mac Daddy has a good concept however I've heard from others' it's not translating well to the table.
Leslie Yager September 05, 2012 at 04:09 PM
Lobster mac & cheese! I'll try this. I'm a hopeless cook, so if it's as filling as you suggest, that will make for leftovers!
brian kelly September 05, 2012 at 05:22 PM
it sounds fantastic! where is this place???????
Kaitlin Crean September 05, 2012 at 05:30 PM
Sorry forgot to put it in the post! 2449 Black Rock Turnpike By Swanson's Fish Market
Kaitlin Crean September 05, 2012 at 05:30 PM
I can't wait to check out your site and see what you come up with!
Kaitlin Crean September 05, 2012 at 05:31 PM
you certainly will have leftovers for a few days, especially if you get the macdaddy size!
suzanne graceffa September 05, 2012 at 06:45 PM
My family went on Saturday and got the Mac USA and the Mac Jordan and we LOVED it!! My husband and I shared a snack size and my 3 kids shared the mac size. We had leftovers, but not much. Mostly because we couldn't stop eating - it was so good. I prefer my pasta on the runny side, I actually avoid most baked pasta dished in restaurants because I think they are completely dried out. This however was crunchy on top and moist inside. The mac daddy prices did seem a bit on the high side, but honestly you could feed 6 people with it so I don't think it's too terrible. My only criticism is that the lighting is so dim and the writing on the menu is so small that it was hard to read the menu and decide what to get.
Kaitlin Crean September 05, 2012 at 07:01 PM
I agree, the font on the menu could be bigger and the lighting around it better! It really does give you lots of leftovers!
Stanley Simpleton September 05, 2012 at 07:48 PM
Obesity in the United States has been increasingly cited as a major health issue in recent decades. While many industrialized countries have experienced similar increases, obesity rates in the United States are among the highest in the world. Of all countries, the United States has the highest rate of obesity. From 13% obesity in 1962, estimates have steadily increased, reaching 19.4% in 1997, 24.5% in 2004, 26.6% in 2007, and 33.8% (adults) and 17% (children) in 2008. In 2010, the CDC reported higher numbers once more, counting 35.7% of American adults as obese, and 17% of American children. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Obesity_in_the_United_States
David Diggerman September 05, 2012 at 09:28 PM
To "Fairfield Resident": The Macdaddys coming soon sign has only been on Swanson's building all summer and you ask where it is? You either need to leave the house more or you need glasses! Wake up chum.
Fairfield Resident September 06, 2012 at 03:14 AM
Dearest David: I don't live in that part of town and rarely frequent the establishments on Black Rock Turnpike. Are you suggesting I waste gasoline to go to a part of town I don't need to go to just so I can "leave the house more"? It was a simple request that the addresses of establishments being reviewed be included in the body of the article so as to give some indication as to where in town they are located. PS - I don't need glasses.....my vision is 20/20. Thanks for your concern though!
Bert October 26, 2012 at 01:20 AM
I visited a week or so after it opened. I chose the pulled pork and was told it was the best seller. I agree it's very soupy, not cooked enough and the pork pieces were so shredded you couldn't taste it. I think the smallest size was. $9.00 or so which I thought was pricey. I had ordered and paid in cash then went to Swanson!s to place an order. There credit card machine was broken and only accepting cash. I had just used my cash for Mac n cheese. So I went back over to McDaddys and asked if I could have the cash back and pay by credit card and the two kids there were so flustered and said no flat out. It was very frustrating working with a bunch of kids who have no authority. I was turned off at the whole place. Won't be going back.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »