.

Letter: Kim Fawcett 'Cares About the Needs of Her Constituents'

A Fairfield resident says he would 'feel honored to continue being represented by' Fawcett.

I immigrated to the United States 18 years ago and since then, have witnessed many different political leaders guide my community in Fairfield. Recently, I met Representative Kim Fawcett and was very impressed by her warmth and her willingness to go above and beyond in helping my family. 

Representative Fawcett took the time to meet with me personally at the local Whole Foods, listen to my family’s issue, and be proactive in helping us resolve it. She went above and beyond my expectations by reaching out to other governmental agencies on our behalf and working through many obstacles to finally help us reach the desired goal.

Representative Fawcett has proven that she really cares about the needs of her constituents and does not back down when she is met with obstacles.  I am grateful to her for her assistance and would feel honored to continue being represented by Kim Fawcett. 

 

Thank you,

Yakov Melnikov

fairfield newcomer October 03, 2012 at 11:35 AM
This letter claims Fawcett cares about the needs of her constituents, she cares less about the rights of the same group. She voted against same sex marriage even after the CT Supreme court ruled it was a violation of the civil rights of the gay residents to deny them the right to marry. Fawcett claimed she was voting in response to the phone calls and emails from her constituents, I didn't think that a public opinion poll was needed before a vote to codify the rights of CT's gay residents and would be similar to the southern Democrats voting against integration or the right of inter racial couples to marry, it harkens back to another time when one group decided which rights would be allowed to another group of citizens.
Tom J. October 03, 2012 at 12:19 PM
Maybe she is following her faith. Maybe she reads the Bible and understands it. This is one nation under God, and in God we trust.
Chuck E. Arla October 03, 2012 at 01:08 PM
The fact of the matter is that in every single instance swhere the people have been allowed to vote on this subject gay marriage has been defeated. You don't have to like it , but facts are facts.
Stanley Simpleton October 03, 2012 at 01:25 PM
I think it's great that Kim Fawcett cares about her constituents, but if she doesn't even show up to vote on major issues while representing us in Hartford, than what good is it?
Creeky October 03, 2012 at 01:25 PM
"The fact of the matter is that in every single instance swhere the people have been allowed to vote on this subject gay marriage has been defeated. You don't have to like it , but facts are facts." Per Chuck's assertion, facts are facts, let's have the facts. In order to test this assertion, we need to sum both the initiatives for and against, and limit them only to referendums, as Chuck said, "where the people have been allowed to vote." There have been 34 such referendums. 2 allowed same sex marriage, 32 prevented. So, in the interest of fact, 94% of "instance(s) where the people have been allowed to vote on this subject gay marriage has been defeated." Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Same-sex_marriage_legislation_in_the_United_States I'm not giving an opinion for or against, just fact checking. I'm no longer in Kim's district so, I've no dog in this fight but, I wanted to remind everyone, Kim does write back. If you've a question for her, ask her.
Stanley Simpleton October 03, 2012 at 01:27 PM
...To my previous point...Kim Fawcett has missed major votes. Those are facts. She did not vote on the 2012 Death Penalty repeal (S.B. 280). Fawcett was absent. This means she skipped out on voting for a critical policy change in Connecticut. Kim also missed voting for an amendment (LCO #3172) that would have allowed Connecticut citizens to decide for or against the Death Penalty themselves via a referendum.
Creeky October 03, 2012 at 01:39 PM
Stanley, I would have preferred to see a referendum on that issue. You are correct, Kim was not present for that vote. Here is whom voted, how, and absent: http://legiscan.com/gaits/rollcall/184465
Fairfield Resident October 03, 2012 at 01:45 PM
I would never vote for Kim Fawcett because..................well........you know why..........
Joe October 03, 2012 at 02:57 PM
Do you honestly believe voting for social conservative Chris DeSanctis would be any better?
Tom J. October 03, 2012 at 03:03 PM
Fairfield Resident I don't know why you would never vote for Kim. Is it some kind of inside joke?
Creeky October 03, 2012 at 03:09 PM
Tom J. Fairfield Resident's rationale was posted, and the comment was deleted for violating Patch's terms of use. If it is a joke, it is anything but funny.
Fairfield Resident October 03, 2012 at 04:37 PM
Nope. Not a Joke. But our 133rd Assembly District Representative is.
Tom J. October 03, 2012 at 06:47 PM
Creeky, thank you for that . I am to understand it was vulgar or degrading of Mrs. Fawsett or women in general? If so why is Fairfield Resident allowed to continue to post on this blog?
Creeky October 03, 2012 at 06:54 PM
Tom, I don't know how Patch determines whom is allowed to post. You'll need to contact them directly. I do know patch is quite liberal and tries not to trim anything--as I've certainly broken the rules without much reprimand. I'm thankful for Patch's support of free speech.
Democrat For Life October 03, 2012 at 07:08 PM
I am a life long Democrat and am sad to say I will not be voting for Kim any more. She has shown her bias on many issues. However, most disturbing is the fact she is not voting on key issues affecting our community. Kim No More.
Joe October 03, 2012 at 07:21 PM
Life long Democrat? Nice try. You're not fooling anyone.
fairfield newcomer October 03, 2012 at 11:26 PM
The following is the oath of office of a CT State Representative; You do solemnly swear (or affirm) that you will support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution of the State of Connecticut, so long as you continue a citizen thereof; and that you will faithfully discharge, according to law, the duties of the Office of State Representative to the best of your abilities; so help you God. It clearly states that the Representative will support the Constitution of the US as well as the Constitution of the State of CT, her personal prejudice and those of other CT residents don't get mentioned in the Oath and she knew what she was swearing to and it's her job to support those Constitutions. And to Joe, I am also a Democrat.
Rick Fawcett October 04, 2012 at 05:37 AM
I am happy to say that Kim has been able to post a factual response to some of the misleading attacks on her work ethic and attentiveness to the job. You can find her response here: http://www.kimfawcett.com/KimsRecord/KimsRecord.php
Diane S. October 04, 2012 at 02:50 PM
Do you really think she has anything to say besides praising herself on her own website????
Bud Morten October 06, 2012 at 03:58 PM
And where on that link is her record of attendance at committee meetings and public hearings? It is not there because her attendance record is very poor. And where on that link is the list of the votes she has missed that independent sources consider to have been "key" votes? And where on that link is her explanation for why www.ctmedian.com ranks her 142/151 (putting her in the 6th percentile) among all CT legislators based on its Political Accountability Data scores?
Rick Fawcett October 06, 2012 at 06:08 PM
Bud: I looked into your comments and a few data points: - She has a 93% vote record. This has to be done in Hartford and in-person. - She lists the myriad of meetings she has been undertaking over the last six months, too. - Of major votes, she has missed 4 in 6 years. One this year. This is from the independent Project Vote Smart - http://votesmart.org/candidate/key-votes/65434/kim-fawcett - I also went to CT Median, as I had never heard of this site before. I am in the high-tech probabilty and statistics business and there methodology is a bit questionable to me... Regardless, this system is not rating Transportation, Children or Technology (of the Energy & Technology Commission) issues and these are the committees Kim serves (where she would add legislation). She wouldn't score because the service doesn't track where Kim leads. - Finally, the committee/public hearings comments from the synchronized letters from different sites are a little confused. It focuses on meetings across the 12 Appropriations sub-committees (the CGA Web site just gloms them together as "Appropriations"). Each rep goes to the meetings for the committees they serve (so, Kim is the Chair of the Transportation Sub). So, by this measure, every rep would miss the vast majority of these meetings as they only attend the meetings they are involved.
Fairfield Resident October 06, 2012 at 06:31 PM
Dear Tom J. " I am to understand it was vulgar or degrading of Mrs. Fawsett or women in general?" It was neither "vulgar" or egrading". I merely stated the facts of a past "incident" of Ms. Fawcett's that is of public record but apparently that is against the rules here. My Bad.
Fairfield Resident October 06, 2012 at 06:31 PM
"degrading"
Diane S. October 07, 2012 at 07:40 PM
Nice try Rick. But no dice.
David Thornton October 07, 2012 at 09:27 PM
I recently had Ms.Fawcett knock on my door one evening to introduce herself as my new State Rep.She had a lovely Ipana smile.When I politly asked her a few questions on her attendence record during the 5 month session and her taking out of the country trips on either my dime or Lobbyist's generosity she got quite defensive.Both my wife and I were taken back by her attitude.How dare we was her position to question her actions.This is not the person or personality I want representing me in Hartford.This all went down about 2 months ago and way before the consensus of many people to her execution and follow thru on representing her constituents.I think Chris DeSanctis deserves and his known backround our consideration and support.
fairfield newcomer October 11, 2012 at 10:59 AM
And what about her vote against gay marriage which clearly violated the oath she took when she was sworn in?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »